What’s wrong with Malta?

I’ve been on this rock for 88 days now, so I definitely think I have spent enough time here to be able to make such judgment call, is what I sarcastically say in my head while I write this. However, from an outsider point of view and coming into a new culture you first initially make comparisons with what you know of how things work from your own experiences to generally having an acceptance of your new chosen way of life.

Obviously every place that you live has its positives and negatives, its likes and dislikes, both sides of the coin for all situations. The reason I write this though is I have seen the good way of life, albeit from a bias point of view, but its this bias comparison that I make this judgment call with.

What’s wrong with Malta?

It settles for Mediocrity.

Now let me explain this. The general population here has an acceptance for the status quo, and this status quo that has developed over many years which is now engrained into the culture of the people here; it’s a mentality of acceptance. The laid back culture, whilst being great on a sunny day overlooking the Mediterranean with a beer in hand, also has its detracting feature that that is the be all and end all. It very well may be for some, but for me it isn’t.

An example of such can be seen in the reasoning that people in Malta give to current affair topics. If you scan through the comments on the news sites there is an air of ‘well this will never change’, assumingly because no one will make the effort too. These views are often applied to affairs on infrastructure, politics, crime, sport and the top stories you often see most country’s facing on a day to day basis.

There is a term frequently used here in Malta, ‘only in Malta’, which is a statement used whenever something goes wrong or when you get flabbergasted by reading or seeing something that you wouldn’t see anywhere else.  And unfortunately this fits the bill of what I’m saying here.

I have been able to see potential in certain individuals that I meet, the country itself has potential to be greater than what it currently is, there are people that can expand who they are and achieve a new level of greatness and inspire others, hopefully these people shine and don’t get sucked into this vortex of averageness, I hope I don’t.

Time to get my motivational speaking on.

Leave a Reply

